The Universal Migrator, Dream Sequencer, Ayreon

24 Nov

Universal Migrator Part 1: The Dream Sequencer sometimes simply referred as The Dream Sequencer, is a progressive rock album released in 2000 by Dutch multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Arjen Lucassen, and is the fourth album of his Ayreon project.

At the time of the original release of the albums comprising the Universal Migrator in 2000, Arjen had enough songs for a double CD, but believed his fan base to be divided into two different camps — prog and metal, with little crossover between the two. So he decided to release two separate CDs, The Dream Sequencer with the progressive tracks and Flight of the Migrator with the heavier, “metal” tracks, with the idea that fans could choose the CD that best fit their musical preferences. The two albums were released simultaneously, both receiving favorable reactions, with most fans purchasing both!

In 2004, Lucassen moved to a new record label — InsideOut Music, and with this move came re-issues of all the previous Ayreon releases, including The Dream Sequencer. The special edition re-issue merged both albums into a single release, titled Universal Migrator: Parts I & II. As only 4 years had passed since the original release of the separate albums, Arjen did not add any bonus features because he felt that this would be unfair to the fans who had already purchased the albums.

The Dream Sequencer features a musical style quite disparate from its counterpart, Flight of the Migrator — telling the story of a trip through time from a variety of perspectives, featuring a prog-infused atmospheric feeling, with a softer and more melodic sound than that of Flight of the Migrator.

Order your copy here and other great items in the Arjen Lucassen Official Store.


Part 1: The Dream Sequencer


Arjen Lucassen
Damian Wilson
Edward Reekers
Floor Jansen
Jacqueline Govaert
Johan Edlund
Lana Lane
Mark McCrite
Neal Morse


Arjen Lucassen
Clive Nolan
Rob Snijders

Part 2: Flight of the Migrator


Andi Deris
Bruce Dickinson
Damian Wilson
Fabio Lione
Ian Parry
Lana Lane
Ralf Scheepers
Robert Soeterboek
Russell Allen
Timo Kotipelto


Arjen Lucassen
Clive Nolan
Ed Warby
Gary Wehrkamp
Keiko Kumagai
Michael Romeo
Oscar Holleman
Rene Merkelbach